Soft in the head?

April 18, 2008 at 1:53 pm (wedding) (, , , )

So there I was happily fitting on dresses. All that white, lace, satin, silk. It was already strange.

Enter the designer. The dress I had on was too small (sample sizes don’t cater for curvy bodies) but I wasn’t too bothered. Then designer – let’s call him R – did his designer-wave as he cast his eye over said curvy body and dress.

Mmmm, he said. “I like that you’ve chosen this. At the back, we’ll have to do something else because you’re quite soft and flabby.”

Gasp.

He continued. “This fleshy part in the front must be hidden. Oh, and we have to do something about the tummy. I do see a pretty face here though.”

Er. Gee thanks.

Anyway. . .he insulted me in such a nice way that it didn’t really upset me too much. He’s a designer and he’s supposed to know how to make me look my best. Fortunately I was so overwhelmed by all the girliness that I didn’t let loose when he suggested I join a gym.

He must be soft and flabby in the head if he thinks that’s happening any time soon.

6 Comments

  1. kash said,

    Hey all this planning can get to u..u gotta see the funny side to things otherwise u’ll go insane..ala my two hitched friends..have u set a date yet??

  2. Louisa said,

    One of the ladies in the team that built my dress did something similar to me…no one was laughing when I rip the dress off and threatened to get married in jeans. 😉

  3. Miss M said,

    Oh my god, I’d be sooo miffed at him.

    You have your dress how you want your dress!

  4. tbhanks said,

    Kash, I did see the funny side. I didn’t punch him…

    Louisa, I may just reach that point. Am holding thumbs that it will not have to get to that stage because i could just lose it completely.

    Miss M, I wasn’t really miffed because I don’t care what others say about my body – i love it and am comfortable with it, flab and all.

  5. jade said,

    Thats very funny!

    Love to see a picture of the end result, I am sure that you are going to look Gorgeous!!!!

    How exciting, congrats!

    Jade

  6. Objectified said,

    Anyway. . .he insulted me in such a nice way that it didn’t really upset me too much. He’s a designer and he’s supposed to know how to make me look my best. Fortunately I was so overwhelmed by all the girliness that I didn’t let loose when he suggested I join a gym.
    +1

Leave a comment