A face made for talking

April 10, 2008 at 12:50 pm (private personal space) (, )

I like to think I’m a decent, nice person. But there are limits. When I’m sitting/standing somewhere I don’t really expect complete strangers to ask if they can join me then start a random conversation.

This has now happened three times in the space of one week. I kid you not.

The first was a random PR who asked if she could sit at my table because she hates sitting alone. I said fine but thought it a bit weird. Before I’d finished my smoke I’d heard about her two dogs who died from the poisoned dog food, how she’d sue Woolworths and how her cat eats only Epol. I’m not even joking.

The other was a guy who told me about his days in the army and how much fun it was. His brain must’ve been addled because he failed to notice the fact that I’m coloured and would certainly not approve of their fun activities in apartheid army.

Then this morning the lady from the bookshop downstairs asked if she can sit at my table because she ‘can’t walk another step’ (the next table was literally another step away). I said fine (why do I do that?!) and she want on to tell me about her new kid and how she was awake at 4am to do ironing, blah, blah.

Can’t a girl just have a cigarette in peace? It’s enough to make anyone quit. I really don’t invite these strangers. They just seem to find it very easy to ask me to sit with me. It’s weird and freaking me out just a tad. I am probably the most antisocial person I know, so heaven knows company is the last thing I want when I go outside alone.

Next time I’ll wear my don’t-fuck-with-me face. Perhaps that will help.

5 Comments

  1. kash said,

    I honestly think i hate this more than u..so when i’m out i just dont look at anyone with a friendly face just in case they wanna talk to me..i think the dont-fuck-with-me face will work…trouble is sometimes ur in such a good mood that u forget, and then some idiot will come stand next to you and start off talking about how chilly it is these days and then, ai, their children….ja well…shame..i feel for you!!!

  2. The Divine Miss M said,

    You must just have the type of face everyone loves 😉

    Try snarling and foaming at the mouth next time. That should keep them away.

  3. Toby Hanks said,

    I’m going to buy some foaming pills and adopt the rapid dog thing, miss m.
    kash, i don’t even look happy! they just sit down and start talking. usually try to box me into a corner the bastards.

  4. kash said,

    Ok….I think miss m is right: you must just have the type of face that everyone loves my dear..nothing u can do about that..
    Have u tried saying: “You know i dont mean to be rude, but i really dont feel like talking right now..”

  5. tbhanks said,

    Oooh…i don’t think i could do that. It would be too…well…rude.

Leave a comment