The tantrums of our lives

February 21, 2007 at 6:00 am (Uncategorized)

I want to throw a tantrum. A big one. Like a grown-up version of a kid’s I-want-that-toy wobble. I want to stomp my feet, launch myself onto the ground and scream until someone comes along, scoops me up and speaks to me firmly, yet lovingly.

But I guess I can’t. Because being an adult means you have to be polite and understanding and courteous and responsible and strong and…and…and. So many ands and ifs.

So what if I really threw one? Well my boss would probably think I’m cracking under the pressure of work. My partner would think I need some serious talk-therapy sessions (which isn’t always a bad thing mind you). My best friend would offer me chocolate, a girlie day out and a shoulder to cry on (if I’m lucky she’d offer me some alcohol and I’d feel obliged to accept out of pure friendship-duty conscientiousness).

I’d have to explain my behaviour. Try to be rational and explain how I feel and what’s going on in my head. Which totally defeats the point of a tantrum really.

So now I’ll just go on my merry way, smoke a ciggie, take deep breaths and try to calm the hell down. Because if I don’t there’s just no telling how big this tantrum’s going to be…

Leave a comment